Job Searching Online

In today’s job search using the internet is a needed tool, whether you’re using it for finding job listings, connecting to contacts, researching companies, applying for jobs online or emailing your cover letters and resumes. Not having access to the internet and World Wide Web will make your job search an extremely difficult mission. If you’re in a situation of not owning a computer or having access to high-speed internet we suggest searching out family members, friends, local libraries, unemployment offices, colleges or schools for assistance in gaining access to the internet.

Many people fall in a false sense of security with their job search and the internet; they feel all they need to do is apply to a few online posted jobs, post their resume on a few sites and wait. When they don’t get the results they expected, they assume there is a lack of jobs and blame it on the current economic situation. It is estimated that about 70% of jobs are filled, in the process of being filled or are canceled prior to being published or advertised. The internet is an excellent tool to locate the 30% of posted live job listings, but there are many more uses of the internet to help connect to the other 70% (the untapped job market, which we review in the other pages of this section).

Posting Your Resume Wisely

As we just mentioned you can’t just post your resume to a site like Monster and expect interviews to roll in; you need to aim your resume at targets that will reward you with an interview. Here are some guidelines for making good use of your time online.

    • Target websites of companies you are interested in, this works with the traditional method and the cold cover letter that we reviewed. Determine which companies to target, visit their sites, review the career section and post your resume to their site if they have this option. Use the site to determine who to directly send your resume
    • Consider using regional job boards. To locate these sites use a search engine like Google then type your state or county followed by “Job Board” or “Jobs” (e.g. New York Job Board or Brooklyn Jobs) or try your local library’s website. These sites are more localized and might have jobs not posted on the larger sites.
    • Explore niche (specialty) job websites; like greenjobs.com for green jobs or Dice.com for tech jobs. See our list below for some other suggested niche sites
    • Review professional association websites, they often post jobs for their members. If you belong to any association make sure you visit their site.
    • There are sites like ResumeRabbit that let you post your resume on many different job posting sites through one easy platform.

Finding Job Listings on The Internet

The internet is an excellent source when you’re searching for those advertised job listings, but according to experts, unless you’re in a high-demand field this can be one of the least effective job search method. We suggest to take part in this method but don’t put all your eggs in this one basket, the other methods we review; Networking, Traditional, Recruiters and Career Fairs all need to have an active role in your job search.

Listed below are a few suggestions of the many websites to search job postings.

LinkedIn.com
https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view-all
LinkedIn is a business and employment-oriented social networking service that operates via websites. It is mainly used for professional networking, including employers posting jobs and job seekers posting their CVs via their LinkedIn profile. As of June 2016 there are 437 million professionals on LinkedIn, 94% of recruiters are using LinkedIn, 89% of them filled a position using LinkedIn and there are about 3 million active job postings for the USA on LinkedIn with 48% of them are exclusive to LinkedIn.

ZipRecruiter.com
https://ziprecruiter.com/jobs
ZipRecruiter is a free career management resource that is designed to assist job seekers throughout the entire process. Job Seekers now know when the application has been received and viewed by the hiring manager. 100% mobile optimized, 1 click apply, let employers find job seekers, receive jobs you are interested in based on your job search behaviors.

Monster.com
http://monster.com
Monster is one of the largest employment websites in the world. Monster is primarily used to help those seeking job openings that match their skills and location. It allows its users to apply to jobs directly through their site. It also allows job seekers to post their resumes for employers to view.

Resume-Library.com
http://www.resume-library.com/register/click/974767
Resume-Library is America’s leading independent job site dedicated to helping candidates find their dream career and supporting recruiters in sourcing the right talent for their vacancies. You can search for jobs, register your resume and set alerts for job postings.

Indeed.com
http://www.indeed.com
This site aggregates job listings from thousands of websites, including job boards, newspapers, associations and company career pages. Indeed allows job seekers to apply directly to jobs on their sites and also offers resume posting and storage.

Careerbuilder.com
http://careerbuilder.com
Provides online career search services for more than 2,000 partners including 140 newspapers and portal such as AOL and MSN.

Simplyhired.com
http://simplyhired.com
A vertical search engine company with a simple approach to finding jobs based on your; keywords, location and preferences. It has a clean and straight-forward approach and will link you to the job posting of each listing where posting originated.

Craigslist.com
http://craigslist.com
Craigslist has received some bad press with some of its shadier listing sections but it is a viable option for searching for job listings. Since posting jobs on Craigslist can be free or very low cost you will find that many smaller companies use this service and many larger companies will use them for local openings. When you apply for a job on Craigslist you will be replying directly to the person who posted the job listings.

JobCentral.com
http://jobcentral.com
Is a public-service employment website owned and managed by leading U.S. employers through membership in Direct Employee Association. Utilizes Direct-Employer’s employment search engine for linking employers with experienced personnel and the NACE-link (national recruiting system to link colleges, students, alumni and employers).

Neuvoo.com
http://neuvoo.com/en
Neuvoo is a free job search engine that indexes jobs directly for free from companies’ career websites, placement agencies and job boards. They centralize all jobs available on the web to help people find new career opportunities, so they are much like the Google for jobs. They offer job searching for a wide range of countries. The website includes a free “take-home” pay calculator.

Niche/Specialty Websites

Below is a list of just some of the niche websites you might find helpful in your job search. They have job postings and information relevant to their industry.

Academic:

American Mathematic Society – www.ams.org
Educational Institutes - www.jobsinschool.com
Higher Education Jobs – www.higheredjobs.com
Academic Professionals - www.academic360.com
K-12 Jobs – www.k-12jobs.com
The New Teacher Project – www.tntp.org

Accounting/Finance/Financial Services:

CFO Jobs – www.cfonet.com
Financial Jobs – www.financialjobs.com
Financial Services – www.efinancialcareers.com
Accounting Jobs – www.accounting.com
Accounting Network – www.accountingnet.com
American Banker Online – www.americanbanker.com
Financial Jobs – www.financialjobnet.com
Institute of Internal Auditors – www.theiia.org
Bank Jobs – www.bankjobs.com
Financial Job Network – www.fjn.com
Mortgage Jobs – www.jobmag.com
Underwriting Jobs – www.underwritingjobs.com
Mortgage Job Board – www.mortgageboard.net
Robert Half - www.roberthalf.com
Title Board - www.titleboard.net
IT Wall Street – www.ITWallStreet.com

Actors and Entertainment Professionals:

Actors – www.exploretalent.com

Advertising/Sales/Marketing & PR:

Advertising Age Job Bank – www.adage.com
Adweek Online – www.adweek.com
Mktg/Sales/Advertising – www.marketingjobs.com
Marketing & Sales Job Page – www.nationjob.com/marketing
Retail Job Net – www.job.com
Sales – www.salesclassifieds.com
Advertising & PR – www.careerexposure.com
Public Relations - www.prweek.com
Public Relations Society of America – www.prsa.org
Creative Staffing – www.artisantalent.com

Artists/Curators:

Art Jobs – www.artjobs.com
Art Jobs – www.nyfa.org
Artisan Talent - www.artisantalent.com

Aviation:

Aerospace – www.spacejobs.com
Aerospace Jobs – www.aerospaceonline.com
Aviation Jobs – www.aviationemployment.com
Pilot Jobs – www.findapilot.com

Broadcasting, News Media & Publishing:

TV Photographers – www.b-roll.net
Broadcasting – www.broadcastingcable.com
Corporation for Public Broadcasting – www.cpb.org/jobline
Media – Television Industry – www.medialine.com
Book jobs – www.bookjobs.com
Media – www.filcro.com
Scripps – www.scripps.com
Minonline – www.minonline.com

Construction:

Construction Jobs – www.constructionjobs.com
Only Construction Jobs – www.onlyconstructionjobs.com

Engineering:

Engineering Jobs – www.engineeringjobs.com
Engineer Jobs – www.engineerjobs.com
IEEE – USA Job Listing Service – www.ieee.org/index.html
Arthitect/Engineer/Contractor Workforce – www.aecworkforce.com

Environmental:

Environmental – Career World Construction – www.environmental-jobs.com
Environmental Jobs – www.eco.org

Executives:

6 Figure Jobs – www.6figurejobs.com
Executive Jobs in Non-Profits – www.ceoupdate.com
Executives – www.ejobs.com Blue Steps – www.bluesteps.com
Executive Classifieds – www.execuclassifieds.com
MBA – www.mbamatch.com
Vice President Jobs - www.vicepresidentjobs.com
Non-Profit Exec Jobs – www.execsearches.com
Headhunters – www.headhunter.com

Fashion:

Women’s Wear Daily – www.wwd.com
Fashion Careers – www.fashioncareer.com
Style Careers – www.stylecareers.com

Film/Television/Theatrical Production:

Mandy – www.mandy.com
Media-match – www.media-match.com
Trevanna – www.trevanna.com
Entertainment Careers – www.entertainmentcareers.net
Film Jobs – www.getfilmjobs.com
Production - www.productionhub.com
Playbill – www.playbill.com
Crewspace – www.crewspace.com
Creative Jobs – www.creativejobscentral.com

Freelancers:

Freelancer’s Union  – www.freelancersunion.org

Government (Federal & State):

Federal Jobs – www.usajobs.gov
State Jobs -http://50statejobs.com/gov.html
Public Service Jobs – www.pse-net.com
National Park Service – http://www.nps.gov/aboutus/workwithus.htm

Graphic Design:

Media Bistro – www.mediabistro.com
Coroflot – www.coroflot.com
Behance – www.behance.net
99Designs – www.99designs.com
Creative Hotlist – www.creativehotlist.com

Green Jobs:

Green Jobs – http://www.environmentalscience.org/careers/
Grist - jobs.grist.org
Green Dream Jobs – www.sustainablebusiness.com
Renewable Energy Business Network – www.cleaneconomynetwork.org
EcoEmploy – www.ecoemploy.com/jobs
Environmental Career Opportunities – www.ecojobs.com
Environmental Career – www.environmental-jobs.com

Health & Medicine:

Health Opportunities  – www.healthopps.com
Health Careers – www.healthcareerweb.com
Nursing Jobs – www.nurse.com
Healthcare Jobs – www.healthcaresource.com
Medical Jobs – www.medzilla.com
Physicians & Healthcare Jobs  – www.practicechoice.com
Physicians Employment – www.physemp.com
Healthcare Jobs- www.miracleworkers.com
Health Jobs – www.healthjobsusa.com
Health Jobs – www.healthjobsite.com
Medical Jobs – www.medcareers.com
Physician Jobs – www.medhunters.com
Travel Nursing – www.travelnursing.org
All 50 Medical - www.all50medical.com/
National Institute of Health – http://irp.nih.gov/careers
American Medical Association- www.ama-assn.org

HealthCare IT:

American Medical Informatics Association – www.amia.org
Information and Management Systems Society – www.himss.org

Hi-Tech & Computers:

Computer Jobs – www.computerjobs.com
DICE – www.dice.com
Java Jobs Online – www.javajobs.net
Tech Jobs – www.techjobbank.com
Programmer Jobs – www.prgjobs.com
Internet Careers – www.internetjobs.com
IT World – www.itcareers.com
Recruiting Jobs – www.technicalrecruiter.com
IT and Tech Jobs – www.sologig.com

Homebased:

Working@Home – www.2work-at-home.com
Home Job Digest – www.intlhomeworkers.com

Hospitality/Food/Entertainment:

Start Chefs – www.starchefs.com
Food Service – www.entreejobbank.com
Food Service – www.foodservice.com
Casino Careers – www.casinocareers.com
Hospitality Jobs – www.hcareers.com
Hospitality – www.hospitalityonline.com
Hotel Jobs – www.hotelresource.com
Resort Jobs – www.resortjobs.com
Job Application Online www.jobapplicationsonline.com

Human Resources:

Society for HR Management – www.shrm.org
Education-Benefits-Compensation – www.ifebp.org
HR Jobs – www.hrimmall.com
Human Resources Jobs – www.hrfree.com
HR Hub – www.hrhub.com
Jobs for HR – www.jobs4hr.com
Human Resources Job Store – www.humanresourcesjobstore.com
HR Opportunities – www.ihrim.org
Recruiter Job Seek – www.recruiterseek.com
Recruiters Jobs – www.recruitersforum.com
Professional Assoc of Compensation & Benefits – www.worldatwork.org
Benefits Link – www.benefitslink.com
PenJerDel Employee – www.peba.org

Freelance & Independent Contractors:

Freelancers  – www.guru.com

Insurance:

Insurance Jobs – www.4insurancejobs.com
Insurance Careers – www.insuranceworks.com
Underwriting Jobs – www.underwritingjobs.com
National Assoc of Ins Commissioners – www.naic.org
National Underwriter Company – www.nuco.com

Law Enforcement:

The Blue Line – www.theblueline.com
Police & Law Enforcement – www.policefind.com
Security Jobs – www.securityjobs.com

Legal:

Law Employment Center -www.lawjobs.com
Lawyer Net – www.emplawyernet.com

Non-Profit:

Non-Profit Jobs – www.nonprofitjobs.org
Executive Non-Profit – www.execsearches.com
Opportunity NOCs – www.opportunitynocs.org
Idealist – www.idealist.org

Part-Time/Seasonal Jobs:

Snag-a-Job – www.snagajob.com
Cool Jobs – www.coolworks.com

Pharmaceutical Jobs:

Pharmaceutical Jobs – www.MyPharmaJobs.com
Pharm – www.pharmacyweek.com

Real Estate:

Real Estate Jobs – www.real-jobs.com
Real Estate Careers – www.realestatebestjobs.com
Property Managers – www.propertymanagerjobs.com
Select Leaders – www.selectleaders.com

Retirement:

Jobs for people over 50 – www.retirementjobs.com
AARP – www.aarp.org
Goodwill – www.goodwill.org

Science:

Jobs in Science- http://jobscience.com
Lab Jobs – www.labsupport.com
American Chemical Society- www.acs.org
Bio Space Jobs – www.biospace.com
Society of Petroleum Engineers – www.spe.org

Social Work & Services:

Social Service Jobs - www.socialservice.com

Sports & Recreation:

Coaching Jobs – www.coachingjobs.com
Jobs in Sports – http://jobsinsports.com

Telecommunications:

Fiber Optics Online – www.fiberopticsonline.com
Telecom Engineers- www.telecomengineer.com
Wireless Networks – www.wirelessnetworksonline.com

Transportation & Travel:

Logistics Careers – www.jobsinlogistics.com
Truck Drivers – www.truckdriver.com
Trucking Jobs – www.layover.com
Trucking Jobs – www.careersingear.com
Trucking – www.truck.net/jobs.html
Travel Industry Jobs – www.traveljobs.com